Kiwi classic..Raspberry slice..

I think I am getting a bit cakist!! or should that be sliceist in my leanings……..

Ha ha, I laugh at my friend who said I was breadist!!

I am diversifying in my yeasty leanings:)

Raspberry slice

Today’s beauty is a Kiwi Classic, I can always remember it BUT I have to say today is the first time, I ever made it.

In fact, the only time I have ever seen this is in the bakeries or supermarkets.

Super duper sweet, nice but has that supermarkety mass-produced taste……

You wonder why these things are classics, especially this as its usually lurid pink and has enough icing to sink a ship!!

But if you get them from a bakery, they are nicer, but still very sweet.

So I have tweaked this a little to make it tasty and a CLASSIC!!

I used a shortcake recipe,similar to my ginger crunch base recipe https://greedybread.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/feeling-a-little-crunchy-perhaps/

Up close and personal…

It’s a nice, easy and quick recipe so let’s get slicey!!

What will you need?

150g butter softened

1 cup castor sugar

2 tsp vanilla essence

1 egg

2 cups of pure flour

1 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

For the Icing:

2 Cups of icing sugar

30 g butter softened

2- 3 tbsp of Raspberry essence

1 drop of rose-pink colouring.

Softly roll out shortbread dough

Cream butter and sugar until creamy and pale.

Add in egg and Vanilla essence and combine well.

Add in sifted dry ingredients and combine well.

This will form a soft and slightly sticky dough.

I cut this in half and rolled it out gently between sheets of baking paper.

I then peeled it off and placed the dough in a well-greased and lined rectangle baking tray.

Spread the jam over

Then spread the jam over the bottom half of the shortbread mix.

Gently roll out 2nd half of dough and then place on top of the jam/ shortbread dough in the tray.

Pre heat oven to 180 celsius.

Place slice in the oven and bake for 25 minutes until slightly tan .

Remove from the oven and cool 20 minutes in tray, then gently place on rack to cool completely.

Gently lay out the dough…

Make Icing by place icing sugar and butter in a bowl and combining.

Add in the essence and a little milk if you need it but you shouldn’t.

You want quite a stiff icing.

When the slice is cold, place the icing in the slice.

Spread over and then make indentations or swirls with an icing comb or fork:)

Cooling..

Allow icing to set, maybe 30-60 minutes.

Then slice into squares or what ever shape you fancy and ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!!

Spread the icing…

swirly…

Slice it up…

Iconic Kiwi classic

Leave a Reply

