Beat the Mid week slump…. Italian Chocolate Bread!!

I know you will love this one , I feel it in my bones….

Moist Chocolate bread…

Imagine this used in a bread & butter pudding,  summer pudding, even in a zuccotto instead of sponge…

You WOULD SELL your kids for this…Pane alla Cioccolata.

Errrr I would sell mine for a good Ciabatta, in fact some days, I would give them away!!!

That makes me think of this bread I saw the other day….Bread of the dead cactus or something..

or those lovely Italian biscuits called ossi de morto….Bones of the dead.

Ooh, ooh, at the end there is a lovely surprise/ bonus to this recipe….

So let’s get beasty yeasty today with out me blithering on…

I feel like one of those ring announcers….”Lets get ready to rumble”…..”Lets get ready to be yeasty”…..

Chocolate bread brioche shape…

WHAT WILL YOU NEED?

Patience, dear people, patience….

No, not too much as this is quite quick in the yeasty time frame.

This makes 2 loaves or you could do 1 big beasty but I think 2 is better.

3 tsp of dried yeast

1 tsp sugar

1/2 cup of warm water

4 & 1/2 cups of pure flour

1 cup of sugar

1/3 cup of cocoa powder…the richer dutch processed is good or use 1/2 cup of Nestle’s baking cocoa.

Pinch salt

1 & 1/4 cups of warm water

1 egg yolk

30g butter

1 cup of chocolate chips (Whittakers do some nice chocolate nibs now)

ready to prove…

Mix the dried yeast  and small amount of sugar into the warmed 1/2 cup of water.

Combine well and allow to become frothy, usually ten minutes.

Into the yeasty mix, add remaining water and egg.

Combine all dry ingredients including the sugar and cocoa.

Add the liquid to the dry, 1 cup at a time, adding in the chocolate chips on the last addition.

Knead lightly for about 8 minutes until dough is moist and supple.

Place in oiled bowl, cover and leave for 2 hours.

after 2 hours…

in the tin….

or loaf?

Place dough on lightly floured board/bench.

Cut in half and shape as you would like the loaf to be.

I did half in a brioche mold and half free form oval loaf.

Make sure if you use molds, they are well-greased.

Cover dough with a tea towel and allow to rise for one hour.

Pre heat the oven after 30 minutes to 220 celsius.

Ready to bake…

cooling…

almost ready…..

Place bread in oven at 220 Celsius for 15 minutes, then turn oven to 170 and bake for another 25 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool on the rack.

Now this was lovely warm BUT I would wait and eat it cool…

A little too stodgy tasting while warm.

True taste reflection when cool……and the chocolate is not mouth burning hot!!

Baked!!

still warm….

big bite!!

when cool…

Now the surprise….

If you also make this….

https://greedybread.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/pane-al-latte-yeasty-mojo/

Pane al latte…Milk bread

Then you can combine the two loaves…

Now you can braid it or you can roll it up like a sable type looking loaf, you can make rolls, or a loaves…or you could do balls of dough and put them in a tin…

Endless possibilities…

Now I do not have a piccy of my own as I did not read the whole recipe right through (like I know all you have) the first time…

So I did not make the two at once but this weekend, I will:)

But this (below) is what I would like mine to look like….

mmmmmmm

So give it a go….I will be and let me know what you think.

The rich texture of the milk bread with the sweet chocolate bread will be scrummy for brunch, lunch, snacks…in fact all times:)

still warm…

Recipe adapted from the wonderful Carol Baker ” The Italian Baker’ , 2nd ed, 2011.

Leave a Reply

