Bonjour Mon Amis…Greedybread Mini French baguette?

I really want a spray thingy so when I open my oven I can spray the walls…

You know, a mister, is what I need.

Just what I need...

Just what I need…

I keep meaning to buy one but I always forget…and no way am I chancing using one that has been used for God knows what.

And a proper bread peel and lame…Hopefully Santa will be good to me:)

yes, please!!

yes, please!!

this too!!

this too!!

Oohhh and a Good baking stone…I have a small one but you know….I have been very very good this year!!

Anyway this bread is tasty, tasty, tasty without all those implements to make it BUT as I said to hubby, “Imagine, what it could be like if I had them!”

The crust was just right, a little chewy but not too much and soft…lovely, dovely….

I feel though it needs a little more proving to give me the big holes:)

Mini Baguette

Mini Baguette

But as per usual, I am going on…lets get into the bread…

Oops, one small diversion….This recipe is by one of my favorite bread bakers, Richard Bertinet.

It uses a Poolish…

If you look here, I have explained it for you…https://greedybread.wordpress.com/starters/

Poolish

Poolish

I like Richard, he is well-known as a baker, but quiet, if you know what I mean.

His recipes are always great and don’t require tweaking as some do sadly….

And in the coming weeks, I will show you some more recipes from Richard.

I like them as they are good bases for you to use to develop your own style recipes.

Get it all together ...

Get it all together …

Ok, I will shut up now…..and let the yeast talk:)

NB:Now you need to do the Poolish the day before.

If pushed for time, you can do it 4-5 hours before but its best done overnight and left in the fridge.

It gives the poolish time to develop and really adds to the taste…

You will need for the Poolish..

30g Rye flour

5g of dried yeast

1 cup of strong bakers flour

120g of warm water

Dough ready to prove

Dough ready to prove

What to do:

Warm water and add in yeast, allow to become frothy.

Mix the rye and plain flour together.

Pour in the water yeast mix and stir well.

Cover tightly and place in the fridge.

I think 12-18 hours is best.

I made mine at 9pm and started using it about 1pm the next day.

Ready to shape

Ready to shape

Part two:

3 & 1/2 cups of strong bakers flour

Pinch of salt

10 g of dried yeast

200-250 mls water.

Cut the dough into pieces

Cut the dough into pieces

Warm the water and add in the dried yeast as done earlier, allowing time to develop.

Pour into poolish from the day before and mix well.

Add to Flour (not salt yet) and form a dough, then add in the salt.

Knead for about 10 minutes until smooth, soft and elastic.

Place into lightly oiled bowl and cover with a tea towel.

Leave for 90 minutes.

make a rectangle with your fingertips

make a rectangle with your fingertips

Shape the dough into batons...

Shape the dough into batons…

Place dough on a lightly flour board/bench and cut into 4 pieces.

Take your piece and gently form a rectangle with the dough using your fingertips to spread the dough out.

Fold the end of the dough nearest to you to the middle (so it will be thirds) and then do the same with the further side away from you.

Fold dough in half, joining the seams by twisting them gently together with your thumb and finger.

Then gently roll dough with both palms to slightly lengthen the dough to the length you want.

I made mine about 15-20cms long.

Twisting the dough seams

Twisting the dough seams

Proving shortly...

Proving shortly…

Place the dough in a lightly floured cloth (or actual couche if you are lucky enough) as above, allowing room to expand, making pleats in between them.

Cover the dough and leave for a further 90 -120 minutes.

I would leave for 120 minutes for the holier bread:)

Preheat oven 30 minutes before to 240 Celsius.

Proving...

Proving…

Ready to bake...well slash first!!

Ready to bake…well slash first!!

When proving is finished and you are ready to bake, sprinkle tray or stone with semolina.

Quickly place bread on the baking trays or peel, slash the bread .

Open the oven and quickly spray with the mister and place tray in the oven or bread onto stone.

Bake for 16 minutes or 20-25 if you make a larger loaf or 12 minutes if you make smaller, thinner baguettes.

Remove from oven and allow to cool on racks.

Delicious!!

Delicious!!

Gorgeous...

Gorgeous…

Yummy...

Yummy…

Ready to eat...

Ready to eat…

Mmmm, just lovely...a bit of chutney!!

Mmmm, just lovely…a bit of chutney!!

I am going to make these again tomorrow but doing 2 big loaves.

What I made is GONE, GONE, GONE!! Greedyboys scoffed the lot….

Some avocado, fresh tomato and a little pecorino…and a dash of pepper..Yummy!!

Or some Puhoi fruity yoghurt….

ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!!!

Gorgeousness recipe adapted from “Crust” by Richard Bertinet.

Leave a Reply

