I’m backkkkkkkkkkk….Are you feeling greedy???

Did you miss me?

I went a little AWOL..

 I have actually, despite appearances, been cooking up a wee storm…

So what loveliness have I got in store for you today???

Visions of Loveliness

Visions of Loveliness

A yummy, scrummy, super moist Rhubarb shortcake.

I was a clever clogs and cooked and froze a lot of Rhubarb in winter….

I think you can buy it fresh in the shops for an extravagant price at the moment.

 You can substitute it for “GASP”…..canned rhubarb or plums (well-drained).

This is utterly gorgy with a BIG BIG dollop of the Puhoi yoghurt or Greek yoghurt.

Nice, simple and quick to make.

I made it as we had about 10 greedyboys here in the weekend.

Needless to say, It was gone in the afternoon.

P1060579 (640x480)

P1060556 (640x480)So without further blathering, as one does…well as I do…Lets get greedy!!

What will you need?

200 g of butter

1 cup of castor sugar

1 egg

2 & 1/4 cups of flour

1/2 cup of icing sugar

Pinch of salt

2 tsp of baking powder.

2 cups of cooked/ drained rhubarb (or plums)

Cream that butter and sugar!!

Cream that butter and sugar!!

Ready to spread....

Ready to spread….

If you happen to have fresh Rhubarb, BLISS!!!

Cut up after peeling and docking the ends and toss them in a saucepan.

I like to be VERY naughty and put in a cup of sugar, actually raw sugar is nice but any is good:)

Enough water to cover the rhubarb and then cook until soft but try not to do it so its gluggy and falling apart.

Cool, then drain and put aside and freeze what you will not need.

I like to save the juice from the Rhubarb after I drain it, its great for coulis or just to put in breads/ cooking etc, that is if  I am not freezing it.

P1060561 (640x480)

Pre heat oven to 180 celsius.

Cream butter and sugar and then add in egg.

Add in sifted dry ingredients and mix well.

You should have a sticky smooth mix.

Line and grease a baking tray.

If you have an old, well used black baking tray, I like to use the roasting dish sometimes, that will do well.

Plus you don’t need to line that.

P1060562 (640x480)

Usually I slightly dampen my hands and spread out the batter in my hands.

It is very sticky and impossible to do by spooning, as you just eat up frustrated with gobs!!

Sometimes I put 2/3rds of the batter in between 2 baking paper sheets and roll it out.

Up to you….I do what i feel at the time.

Use up 2/3rds of the batter in lining the bottom of the tray.

Lay fruit out over batter layer(as above) and then repeat top process to form a top layer.

You want to cover it fully if possible ( unlike I did).

P1060567 (640x480)

Pop in oven and bake for 40-45 minutes until golden brown.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

Slice when cool and ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!!

This is truly a lovely slice, dessert or spot of afternoon tea.

Moist and so light , just divineness:)

Don’t forget, try a piece with a dallop of the greek yoghurt!

mmmm

mmmm

yumminess

yumminess

Looking gorgy too!!

Looking gorgy too!!

Just Divine...

Just Divine…

Have a bite!

Have a bite!

Almost all gone...

Almost all gone…

 

 

Leave a Reply

