Heavenly Pasticciotto…..

Delish!!….

Pasticciotto....

Pasticciotto….

Traditional with pastry creme...

Traditional with pastry creme…

Greedyboy pasticciotto with nutella

Greedyboy pasticciotto with nutella

 I am not sure about the partly nutella filled ones.

I took the advice of my greedyboys on that one…

Think I was duped!!

They assured me they were DIVINE!!..

Hmmm will ponder that a little more….

Also need to take photos when warm as photos show set creme rather than flowing 🙂

Oval tins...yes ovals!!

Oval tins…yes ovals!!

Pasta Frolla

Pasticciotto Nutella???

P1080129 (800x600)

Pasta Frolla

I have used my pasta Frolla recipe or you may like a slightly different variation of Pasta Frolla.

I used 2/3rds of the pastry to make 8 Pasticciotto and then my son made some nutella creations…

Greedyboy nutella pastry...

Greedyboy nutella pastry…

I will be trying the above pasta frolla version once I get some dripping.

My granddad used to make pastry with dripping and suet…

Both, I hate to say, were divine!!

What will you need for the pastry creme???

You can also use the recipe in the link above for Pasta Frolla but I found it too stiff.

This fills 8 Pasticciotto.

5 egg yolks

1 egg

2 cups of milk or to be very GREEDY…1 cup cream, 1 cup of milk!!

Vanilla essence

1/2 cup of sugar

20g of cornflour

20 g of  flour

Whisk the eggs and sugar..

Whisk the eggs and sugar..

Warm the milk...

Warm the milk…

Warm the milk and vanilla essence.

Whilst the milk is warming, in a separate bowl, whisk eggs and sugar together.

When pale , add in the 2 flours and whisk until smooth….

Bring milk to a gentle boil and remove from heat.

Add in the eggy flour mix into milk and whisk well.

Return to the heat (low) and whisk constantly until it thickens.

Remove from the heat and set aside.

A bit of both....

A bit of both….

Pipe the creme in....

Pipe the creme in….

Shape it...

Shape it…

Yummmm

Yummmm

Almost ready...to bake:)

Almost ready…to bake:)

Roll out the pasta Frolla and line the tins you have chosen.

Deep dish is best…

Pre heat the oven to 175 Celsius.

Spoon or pipe in the pastry creme to the cases.

Roll out pasta frolla and place over the top of the cases  (as above) and cut off excess pastry.

Pinch together and brush with milk.

Pop into the oven and bake for 40 minutes or until pastry is golden brown.

Remove from oven and cool in the tins for 10 minutes, then place on a rack to cool completely.

P1080162 (800x600)

P1080163 (800x600)

P1080165 (800x600)

P1080169 (800x600)

P1080170 (800x600)

I would eat these whilst warm but I have to say they are delish cold too:)

Pour yourself a coffee, and ENJOY, ENJOY ENJOY!!

P1080175 (800x600)

With Nutella...

With Nutella…

P1080198 (800x600)

P1080196 (800x600)

Recipe  adapted from:

http://foodloversodyssey.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/05/pasticciotto-from-puglia.html

Leave a Reply

