A new twist on an old fav…Cranberry Spiced Scones..

Love scones…Anyhow, anytime!

Bring it on!!

Y Y Y Yummmm

Y Y Y Yummmm

By themselves or with jam and butter...

By themselves or with jam and butter…

Slather on the butter...

Slather on the butter…

Date, Raisin, Spiced apple, Any fruit really, Plain, Cheese (well ok, not cheese so much), Cheese and bacon, Salami and Cheese…Mmm

Add some butter, spiced butter, clotted cream, cream, mascarpone, yoghurt, jam conserves, stewed fruit…heaven.

Scones are the ONLY thing that I find ok to slather on the butter…

I eat them without butter but will approve the half a block of butter put on by my greedyboys in this case!

I made these babies for my greedyboys to eat when they got home from school.

I am only home 1-2 afternoons when they get home from school, so I like to do them a little something sometimes…

And save one for Daddy too:)

Almost ready for the oven, chocka with fruit!

Almost ready for the oven, chocka with fruit!

Lots...very greedy

Lots…very greedy

Plain..

Plain..

WHAT DO YOU NEED???

Well i just make these by throwing stuff in…..using sight and taste to judge…

Here is my standard scone recipe.

What I do is usually make two types as I LOVE LOVE LOVE more fruity ones whereas the greedyboys tend to like plain or savory.

So make the recipe above to the point of mixing in the milk.

Step away!!

Preheat the oven to 220-230 celsius.

more fruityness

Brushed with milk…

Just as I like them..

Just as I like them..

Ready....warm...tasty...

Ready….warm…tasty…

In one bowl this time I added, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg and a touch of aniseed, cranberries, maybe 1 cup, mixed it well ,

Some people add sugar but it really doesn’t need it, as the cranberries are sweet enough.

Then added in the milk and formed the dough, then turning the dough out on a lightly floured bench.

In the 2nd bowl, I left them plain and just added in the milk, made the dough and out onto the floured bench.

REMEMBER DO NOT FARFFF AROUND, WE ARE NOT TALKING BEAUTY QUEEN HERE.

The less handling the better tasting:)

More fruityness..

More fruityness..

Waiting for cream??

Waiting for cream??

Working quickly, cut into pieces and then place on a baking tray.

Brush with milk and then into the oven.

Bake usually 12-15 minutes, rotating the tray very quickly half way through.

I like mine goldy brown, others like pale scones so up to you.

Remove from the oven and cool on the baking tray.

If they last that long.

I eat them while warm with black tea, no butter, no nothing BUT when they are cold, I like a lick of butter or cream and jam:)

Piping hot tea and bob’s your uncle.

Bliss!!

ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!!

yummmmm

yummmmm

Buttery...

Buttery…

Last one...

Last one…

For more scone greedyness….

Sunday scrummy scones

One thought on “A new twist on an old fav…Cranberry Spiced Scones..

  1. Pingback: Did I say Ouch?? | Run Tonto Run......

Leave a Reply

